When are the bank holidays in 2022? Full list of dates

Plot these dates into your 2022 calendar now. (Picture: Getty)

As England scarps its Covid-19 laws and Boris Johnson lays out the government’s’Living With Covid’ strategy, many will be hoping to make up for lost time across the last two years.

So it’s a good thing that there are lots of bank holidays to look forward to in 2022, with the UK is being treated to an extra day off as the Queen celebrates her Platinum Jubilee.

Usually, the whole of the UK enjoys at least eight bank holidays a year, but in 2022, we will have nine.

So if you’re hoping to book your 2022 trip around the bank holidays, keep on reading.

Bank holidays 2022: Full list of dates

To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web browser that supports HTML5 video

The remaining bank holiday dates for 2022 are:

  • Thursday 17 March – St Patrick’s Day (Northern Ireland only)
  • Friday 15 April – Good Friday
  • Monday 18 April – Easter Monday
  • Monday 2 May – Early May bank holiday
  • Thursday 2 June – Spring bank holiday
  • Friday 3 June – Platinum Jubilee bank holiday
  • Tuesday 12 July – Battle of the Boyne (Northern Ireland only)
  • Monday 1 August – Summer bank holiday (Scotland only)
  • Monday 29 August – Summer bank holiday (England and Wales only)
  • Wednesday 30 November -((Scotland only)
  • Monday 26 December – Boxing Day
  • Tuesday 27 December – Christmas Day (substitute day)

The extra bank holiday in 2022 is in honor of the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee.

Culture Secretary Oliver Dowden announced plans for a series of events to be held from Thursday, June 2 to Sunday, June 5, 2022, which he said will reflect the monarch’s reign and her impact on the world since she came to the throne in 1952.

Queen Elizabeth II attends the Windsor Grays Statue unveiling.

Queen Elizabeth II is the first British monarch to have been on the throne for seven decades. (Picture: Max Mumby / Indigo / Getty Images)

The Queen will reach the landmark on February 6, 2022, when she will become the first British monarch to have been on the throne for seven decades.

MORE: When is the first day of Spring 2022 and what is the spring equinox?

MORE: Travel experts reveal the cheapest holiday destinations for an Easter getaway

Follow Metro across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Share your views in the comments below.

Leave a Comment